FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES North Carolina A&T State University Academic Classroom Building (A101) Tuesday, April 25, 2017 3:00 p.m.

Dr. Dwedor Ford, Chair Presiding

Senate Members Present: Phoebe Ajibade, Obasi Akan, Geleana Alston, Sherrie Cannoy, Robert Cobb, Jr., Albert Esterline, Bonnie Fields, Dwedor Ford, Tony Graham, Elizabeth Hopfer Newcomb, Abebe Kebede, Luba Kurkalova, Anna Lee, Robert Li, Zhichao Li, Deanna McQuitty, Gregory Meyerson, Robert Newman, Thomas Redd, Kim Smith, Octavious Spruill, David Tidwell, Li-Shiang Tsay, Shengbin Wang, Jenora Waterman, Cindy Waters, Dwana Waugh.

Departments Not Represented: Agribusiness, Applied Economics and Agriscience Education; Natural Resources and Environmental Design; Accounting and Finance; Chemical, Biological and Bioengineering; Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering; Computational Science and Engineering; Counseling; Educator Preparation; Social Work and Sociology; History; Political Science and Criminal Justice; Liberal Studies; Chemistry; Energy and Environmental Systems; Applied Engineering Technology; Nanoengineering.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Dwedor Ford.

Roll Call

Approval of Minutes

It was properly moved and seconded to approve the March 28, 2017 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes upon adding Senator Dr. Geleana Alston to *Senate Members Present*. The motion carried.

Senate Welcome

Dr. Ford extended greetings and thanked everyone for their presence.

Nomination Committee Report

Dr. Harp presented a Faculty Senate 2017-2018 academic year election ballot. The ballot included nominations for the following offices: Vice Chair (2017-2019) and Secretary (2017-2019); and nominations for the faculty assembly delegation which consists of four (4) delegates and one (1) alternate. Upon tally of election vote of senators, the results are as follows: Vice Chair, Faculty Senate, 2017-2018; 2018-2019 – Dr. Robert Cobb, Jr. Secretary, Faculty Senate, 2017-2018; 2018-2019 – Dr. Elizabeth A. Newcomb Faculty Assembly Delegation: Dr. Dwedor Ford, Dr. Bonnie Fields, Dr. Gregory Meyerson, and Mr. David Tidwell. Dr. Galen Foresman will serve as the alternate.

Dr. Julius Harp

Dr. Dwedor Ford

Athletics Update

Ms. Leslie Rowls, Assistant Director, Student Academic Enhancement Program Mr. Cory Lima, Assistant Compliance Director

Ms. Rowls and Mr. Lima presented a powerpoint presentation/discussion on faculty athletics representatives and academic integrity of the athletics program. Included in the presentation was discussion of local duties of faculty athletics representatives; athletic academic compliance and GPA range count; and team rankings with degree audit finding highlights. Ms. Rowls and Mr. Lima addressed questions from the senate floor and indicated that they would be glad to follow-up on any additional questions and concerns.

RPT Calendar for 2017-2018

Dr. Rhodes presented the faculty reappointment, promotion and tenure review calendars that included NCAT/peer comparisons. Calendar dates included notice to faculty, deadline for full and early tenure request, external reviewer list, external recommendations due, dossier due, department recommendation to dean, college recommendation to dean, dean to provost, university recommendation to provost, provost to chancellor and chancellor to Board of Trustees. Following discussion, Dr. Rhodes asked senators to please be in touch with him for any additional discussion and/or comments.

Committee Reports

New Programs and Curricula

Dr. Newcomb brought to the floor proposals that were discussed in their committee meeting on April 12, 2017. She stated that the proposal packets had been uploaded to Blackboard. Following Dr. Newcomb's presentation, there was one issue discussed involving one item from the package from Chemical and Biological Engineering. That department had proposed a new course, BMEN 161 which was a MATLAB for Biological Engineering students. Concerns were raised about the similarity between this proposed course and the general MATLAB course, GEEN 161. Representatives from that department were not present to respond to the concerns, so the senate did not pass that portion of the package. Upon discussion, it was properly moved and seconded that the committee report be approved as submitted except the packet from Chemical and Biological Engineering. The motion carried.

The Senate reviewed and discussed 12 curriculum changes submitted by the New Programs and Curricula Committee from the following departments: Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering; Chemical and Biological Engineering; Accounting and Finance; Mathematics; Chemistry; Physics; Built Environment; Psychology; Liberal Studies; Human Performance and Leisure Studies; Visual and Performing Arts; and History.

Dr. Elizabeth A. Newcomb

Dr. Craig Rhodes

Constitution

The Committee is continuing its review of Chapter IV of the faculty handbook. Senators were asked to read Chapter IV thoroughly and to provide Dr. Cobb with any comments and/or concerns.

Faculty Welfare

The committee is continuing its work on agenda items as related to chair appointment, reappointment and evaluation guidelines; course load guidelines and policies; merit pay; and guidelines for new faculty funds availability.

Faculty Handbook (Narrative submitted by Chair Dr. Roland L. Leak) **Dr. Dwedor Ford** "... we are finalizing Chapter 10 revisions of the handbook. Committee members are still sending in proposed updates. We will have these updates to you with the annual report of the committee. We also recently received the provost's proposed updates to Chapters 5 and 6. We have not completely flushed through these chapters, and we won't by year's end. These will be chapters that are the priorities to review at the beginning of the next academic year. Remember, this committee will need a new chair I would recommend that a senator chair the committee as they will be best connected to the goings on of the full body.".

Statement from Faculty Senate Chair

Dr. Ford thanked senators for their dedication and support. She stated that committee chairs are needed for the New Programs and Curricula Committee and the Faculty Handbook Committee for the 2017-2018 academic year. She stressed the importance of the work of these committees and asked senators to give serious thought to taking on the leadership roles.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

NEXT MEETING: August 22, 2017 at 3:00 p.m. in Academic Classroom Building (A101)

Nina R. Ingram Recorder

Dr. Robert Cobb, Jr.

Dr. Dwedor Ford

Mr. David Tidwell